Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

I’m thinking that Monster High Friday might be a cute feature for the blog and I have this beautiful Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll to help me kick it off. This doll is the newest collector series doll, an Amazon Exclusive, and she is schedule for an August 2016 release. Her pre-order price is $29.99 and I had to have her the instant I saw her. Scroll all the way down for her gallery or keep reading for my thoughts on this new release.

First, here is her description from Amazon:

Favorite Monster High character, Skelita Calaveras, daughter of Los Eskeletos.
– Comes alive in a luxe outfit inspired by traditional Mexican clothing from Oaxaca.
– The vibrantly colorful design on her black dress replicates an elaborate embellishment of lavish hand-embroidered flowers.
– A layer of white lace with custom embroidery of skulls and hearts adds a killer touch.
– Braided detail on her shoes and headpiece are scary cool.

I added periods to the sentences because it was driving me crazy that they didn’t have any.

Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

The gray makeup on this release is particularly great. I know a lot of fans like the orange streaks, but I love the teal and black hair without it, so I’m extra happy about her hair. I’m hearing rumors that the traditional “skeleton nose” will be in place, but I actually like this white one just fine.

Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

The headpiece and jewelry really make this collector’s doll stand out. As an adult Monster High collector I felt really driven away by quality control issues (glue seepage, eye wonk, etc.) so hopefully having editions that are specifically for collectors will mean better quality control.

Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

Either way we have to remember we are looking at what is essentially a prototype, since the shoes above are pink and yellow, but the shoes in the full body photos are blue and pink (see below), and yet the New York Toy Fair version had purple and yellow shoes. It’s a small detail, but it does make me curious about what the final doll will look like and what changes will be made.

Monster High Skelita Calaveras Collector Doll Amazon Exclusive (August 2016 Release)

Regardless of any reservations about quality I had to click “pre-order” for this girl. I am a Day of the Dead baby, after all, so I feel a bit of loyalty toward Miss Skelita because of that. I also have to admit that I was surprised since the first collector doll was Draculaura I just kind of assumed Frankie would be next. Skelita is a pleasant surprise and one that I will enthusiastically support.

What do you think of this new collector doll? Are you planning on picking her up or letting this release pass? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Gallery

Leave a Reply

