Monster High Shriek Wrecked Doll Series Promotional Photos

I am still figuring out how I feel about the Monster High reboot, but now that I’m seeing clearer promotional photos of the Shriek Wrecked dolls I’m starting to get excited. Below is information on each doll in this series along with my thoughts; remember to click the images to view them larger. As soon as I see pre-order links I will post them. Any tips would be greatly appreciated as well and will happily be credited.

Monster High Shriek Wrecked Draculaura Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Draculaura Doll

My first impression of this Shriek Wrecked Draculaura doll, and the series in general, is pinup 50s retro cute, and I love it. Draculaura is wearing a pink and blue sailor’s outfit dress and hat with a rope bow motif. Her forearms and hands are made out of darker pink plastic, which is supposed to mimic gloves, I believe. Normally I am irritated by “permanent” gloves or stockings, but I don’t plan on redressing any of these dolls, so it doesn’t bother me as much.

Monster High Shriek Wrecked Lagoona Blue Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Lagoona Blue Doll

Lagoona is wearings shorts which I am so excited about because Monster High dolls are all about the (short) dresses and (short) skirts, so this is a big step forward for me. The major motif is a helm (ship’s wheel) which is on her dress and headpiece, she also has a red striped shirt and socks, which match her purse. The gold “rope” overalls are too cute and she has black “glove” hands. I really love this version of Lagoona, I feel like it is a super strong offering in this series.

Shriek Wrecked - Rochelle Goyle Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Rochelle Goyle Doll

Rochelle Goyle’s theme is octopus attack! Her head piece is an octopus attacking a ship and there appears to be a tentacle in her hair as well. The headpiece, gloves aka arms, and boots are all in a metallic rose, which is beautiful. I don’t think Rochelle’s dress is the strongest, but her accessories are amazing. The rope and anchor belt is super cool and the tentacle eye patch is wonderfully bizarre.

Shriek Wrecked - Clawdeen Wolf Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Clawdeen Wolf Doll

Clawdeen is wearing pants too, hurray! Other than that I really feel like she’s one of the weakest from this series, likely a budget doll. Some of these dolls are so elaborate, so in comparison she feels really plain. If not for the pirate headband it would be hard to really get pirate/nautical theme from her.

Shriek Wrecked - Dana Treasura Jones
Shriek Wrecked – Dana Treasura Jones

The new ghoul introduced by the Shriek Wrecked series is Dana Dayna Treasura Jones, daughter of Davey Jones. She appears to have a golden toned skin similar (or identical) to Gilda Goldstag, and both her dress and shoes have removable pieces that allow them transform. She looks relatively simple next to the other ghouls, but I am still looking forward to her release since I think it’s an interesting concept. Update: Monster High posted a new photo of Treasura on the Facebook page with either a new or transformed outfit. They also changed her name from Dana to Dayna, which seems unnecessary.

Shriek Wrecked - Catrine Demew Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Catrine Demew Doll

Catrine Demew looks a bit like she’s taking a stroll on the beach. I’m guessing she will be more of a “budget” doll in this series, like Clawdeen. I really like the new face on Catrine since I felt her “classic” face was a bit severe, but I’m not sure if I will order her or not.

Shriek Wrecked - Gil Webber Doll
Shriek Wrecked – Gil Webber Doll

Finally, Gil Webber, a manster, has appeared. I’m not super into mansters, but I know a lot of people are, and I do love the shorts he’s wearing. It wouldn’t make sense for any other manster to be in a nautical series, so welcome Gil.

Monster High Shriek Wrecked Gooliope Jellington
Shriek Wrecked – Gooliope Jellington Doll

After the other dolls had been floating around a bit, a Shriek Wrecked Gooliope Jellington doll surfaced. You can click the view larger, of course, since she’s huge. I’m guessing this is a prototype because her face is identical to her Freak du Chic doll and while I’m hearing rumors this is official (and maybe a Target exclusive) she looks like a fan-made creation. Not a good sign if she’s a real release, in my opinion. There’s nothing nautical about the outfit or the rainbow hair, either. Also, again, it’s the same face. Do you all even think this is a real release? I’m skeptical.

Final Thoughts

On the whole I really like this series and I’m excited for official release info to come out. I’m not sure if I will get the whole line, but I definitely want Draculaura, Lagoona, Rochelle, and Dayna Jones.

What do you all think of this series? Which of these dolls will you be getting, if any? Which are your favorites? I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Update 6/8/16: Added Gooliope

Leave a Reply

