Two New Dolls in The Barbie Look Line: Party Perfect and Festival

Two new dolls from The Barbie Look line have just been released: Party Perfect and Festival. The Barbie Look is also an Instagram hashtag (#thebarbielook) and you can keep up with the line on the Barbie Style Instagram, which had some really great photos, I must say. It is literally my doll photography dream job so I’m trying to contain my jealousy right now.

Party Perfect Barbie

Party Perfect Barbie

This lovely lady almost snuck under my radar. Party Perfect is a Black Label Barbie doll released on June 1st 2016. Black Label means that it’s designed for an adult collector, but isn’t a limited run, so it is a more affordable doll ($29.95 in this case). Here is her official description:

She lives life joyously and always fashionably. She models the perfect look and that unstoppable attitude wherever she goes. Barbie® doll’s closet is packed with quintessential ensembles, so our photogenic Barbie® always flashes unforgettable style and a brilliant smile!

Body Type: Articulated
Facial Sculpt: Lea
Fashion Sewn On: No
Eyelashes: Painted
Fashion: Knee-length ballerina skirt with shimmering rose-colored top
Accessories: Jewelry set, silvery clutch
Party Essentials: Picture frame, gift bag
Doll Stand: Included

Party Perfect Barbie

If you look closely at the first photo you will realize that she actually comes with a photo of herself and another Barbie, so her present for the party is a framed selfie, which I’m very amused by. My favorite thing about this doll is her outfit, which I love, and I think it would go great on my Barbie, Vi. The outfit is casual while still being chic and the accessories are fun. I am biased toward silver (over gold or copper) so I like her even more because of that.

Party Perfect Barbie

While the outfit looks really well made, the doll’s face up is not completely working for me. The eye makeup seems very heavy and her lips look almost crooked, which has to be an optical illusion, right? Her side pony is super cute though, I really like how they styled her hair. It would be nice is Mattel took a page from BJD sellers and noted skin tones of each release; my Vi needs a new body (hers has little articulation) but I’m not sure what dolls would match.

On the whole I really like this release and I’m very temped I decided to get it. For the quality of the outfit alone the $30 price tag is worth adding it to my collection. Also, since I’m in the Barbie Fan Club (doll nerd alert) there’s a $20 off coupon burning a hole in my pocket. I will reserve judgement on the face up until I see her in person, but I have high hopes for Party Perfect.

Gallery

Festival Barbie

Barbie Festival - The Barbie Look

Festival Barbie is the other new doll in The Barbie Look line, and she, too, was released on June 1st 2016. She is a Black Label doll and is priced at $29.95, which is extremely reasonable considering how much she comes with. Her description is the same as Party Perfect’s above, so I won’t repeat it, but here is her info:

Body Type: Articulated
Facial Sculpt: Aphrodite
Fashion Sewn On: No
Eyelashes: Painted
Fashion: Paisley printed chiffon maxi dress
Accessories: Gold etched headband, earrings, gold crystal pendant necklace, taupe boho fringe bag, bouquet, ring, shoes
Festival Essentials: Ticket, water bottle, camera
Doll Stand: Included

Barbie Festival - The Barbie Look

While Festival Barbie (her ticket reveals that it’s a music festival) isn’t my style at all, I’m so impressed with her that I almost added her to my collection as well. She comes with a ton of accessories and they all look very nice, even though the ring and shoes aren’t shown in any of the promo photos, the accessories we do see are all great. The cuff and fringe bag are my personal favorites, and her dress is very cute. The only thing holding me back is that Festival isn’t precisely Vi’s style, but if it was, I would snap this doll up.

Barbie Festival - The Barbie Look

The face up on this doll, while better than Party Perfect, is kind of bland. Seeing as that my out-of-box Babs has purple hair, I’m not expecting a sun-kissed blond to appeal to me. Her vacant eyes and open mouth are also not my style, but (but!), that being said, I do think it works well for the boho/festival theme. While they were piling on the accessories (a good thing) I think a pair of sunglasses would have been an appropriate addition. The water bottle accessories seems strange and unnecessary, but oddly enough, that’s what I like about it.

Despite thinking that Festival Barbie is a really solid release, I won’t be picking her up unless there’s either a sale or a moment of weakness. I like her and I think the collectors that she appeals to will be delighted, but she doesn’t mesh with my personal style. Maybe when I have a doll room …

Gallery

Conclusion

And there you have it! Two new Barbie dolls in The Barbie Look line and both are pretty great. Personally, I’m loving this series and cannot wait to see what they come out with next. My wallet will be willing, but will it be ready?

What do you all think of these new dolls? Will you be picking up either, neither, both? Which is your favorite? I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Leave a Reply

