Photos: New Barbie Fashionistas Spotted at Target

I live in an almost-rural area, so my local stores aren’t exactly stocked with the newest dolls. However, the new line of Barbie Fashionistas (blogged promo photos for original/petite and curvy/tall) have shown up and been picked over. I was lucky enough to get a box photo of one doll from each of the lines and this is before my pre-order from Mattel has even been marked as shipped.

Barbie Fashionistas Original B-Fabulous

Barbie Fashionistas #34 B-Fabulous (Original) is one that I was considering picking up when the promo photos were released. However, as you can see above, the B-Fabulous that I found in Target looks nothing like her promo photo. Maybe it’s just a printing issue, but the doll that was left in the store is pretty fugly. It probably is because, to be honest, Mattel lets a lot of wonk go out the factory door. The outfit she is wearing is completely adorable though and, yes, she has pointed feet. The other two outfits she comes with are still lukewarm for me.

Barbie Fashionistas Curvy So Sporty

Barbie Fashionistas #38 So Sporty (Curvy) is one that I know a lot of people want to get. She has flat feet (yay!) and looks great in the package, her mesh and neon outfits are both very cute. Thumb’s up!

Barbie Fashionistas Petite Pizza Pizzaz

Barbie Fashionistas #40 Pizza Pizzaz (Petite) is the one I almost got, her theme is just so strange that I find it delightful. She has pointy feet and dark hair as well as a Debbie Gibson hat. The skirt that she’s wearing has the stitching printed on, which is so cheap looking that I cannot. The pink top she’s wearing and polka dot dress are both great though. I might go back to the store for this one.

Barbie Fashionistas Tall Lacey Blue

Barbie Fashionistas #43 Lacey Blue (Tall) is another doll that looked like a stunning supermodel in her promo photo, but looks pretty terrible in real life. She went from looking gorgeous to looking confused and why are her purses so tiny? She has pointy feet and pretty bland accessories, the mint heels being the exception. I’m very happy that I didn’t pre-order her.

Conclusion

On the whole I’m still very optimistic about the new Barbie Fashionistas, but I cannot fathom why my pre-order hasn’t shown up. I’ve heard of these issues, but now I’m experiencing them for myself. I would love to post more photos of the girls that I did pre-order when they do come home (which reminds me, I have a cross-eyed Sweet Tea Barbie to show you, she looks ridiculous).

Those of you who already have one of these four new Fashionistas: are the ones shown here representative? Are did you find stunners to my wonks?

If you don’t own one yet, which, if any, will you pick up?

I’d love to chat with you in the comments!

Leave a Reply

