SDCC 2016 Exclusive Pullip Dolls: Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn Dress Versions

I’m very excited to share Groove’s announcement that there will be two new San Diego Comic Con exclusive Pullips for 2016: Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn, Dress Versions! Both characters had dolls made of them in 2012 and, I think, these new versions are even better. More of my thoughts are below along with ordering information. Also, I fixed the grammar and punctuation of the doll’s “Feel Like So” lines because it was driving me crazy. Anyway …

SDCC 2016 Exclusive Pullip Wonder Woman Dress Version

Wise as Athena, swifter than Hermes … and stronger than Hercules … I am an Amazon Warrior … Feel Like So.

I’m posting about Wonder Woman first because I have a soft spot for her as a comic book hero, I have a Wonder Woman coffee mug for goodness sakes, so she goes first. For the dress version Wonder Woman has a short ball gown with red corset top with gold detailing and a ruffle-covered blue skirt that has white stars. A surprisingly classy reinterpretation of the American flag as a ball gown; Miss America, take note. She has white gloves with gold trim, a gold lace headband with red star, red star earrings, red stockings, and red pumps with a gold stripe. Wonder Woman, of course, comes with her signature lasso.

SDCC 2016 Exclusive Pullip Wonder Woman Dress Version

Wonder Woman’s face up is really lovely with lots and lots of dark eyelashes and natural makeup. She looks like she has a medium skin tone and her black and blue wig looks like it’s much better quality than the 2012 version’s. Wonder Woman has black eyebrows and blue eyes with a cute star detail. My only complaint is her lip color which looks like a really bright, cherry red. For me it’s a bit too bright, but it may grow on me over time, or it could look better in person.

On the whole I think that Wonder Woman is a really strong release and I love the reinterpretation of the classic costume into a dress. The star on the headband looks very craft store, and the lasso doesn’t seem to have finished ends, which concerns me. Regardless, it’s fun and it’s unique, which is good, since Mattel is also releasing a Wonder Woman doll at SDCC. Oops!

Pullip Wonder Woman is available in the Groove online shop for $156, since she is a SDCC release I assume that (similar to Mattel) you order the doll online and pick her up in person. Update: I believe you can just pre-order them as usual, so they aren’t really SDCC exclusives, just SDCC releases.

SDCC 2016 Exclusive Pullip Harley Quinn Dress Version

Love makes me do many things … I can easily dress up for you, Puddin’!! … Feel Like So.

Harley Quinn is also being re-released as a Dress Version for SDCC. Unlike Wonder Woman, however, Harley Quinn seems to be essentially the same as her 2012 New York Comic Con counterpart, but in a different outfit. The wig color may be a little different, certainly the colored streaks have been added, and the eye chips might be a shade darker, but it’s hard to tell from the limited photos. You can’t see the eyebrows in this version, but she looks, essentially, to be the same doll.

Harley Quinn comes with top hat-esque hair accessory, black eye mask, pony tail decorations, white blouse, black and red jacket, black and red ruffle skirt, black tights, and black and red boots. I am assuming that the outfit is largely made of separates and isn’t one piece, but note that it’s my assumption. I have to say that I really love her outfit, it’s so elaborate and the shoes are a bit aggressive; Harley Quinn is so sexualized, this is a nice change for me. We often forget that the woman has a PhD.

SDCC 2016 Exclusive Pullip Harley Quinn Dress Version

Harley Quinn has a white skin tone, medium blue eyes with black lines, grey detailing around her eyes, and blood red lips. The eye details are very strong on her; someone who owns both will have to tell me (please!) how similar the face up is to the 2012 version. Even if they are the same, I doubt fans will care, those who love Harley Quinn do so strongly.

Pullip Harley Quinn is available in the Groove online shop for $156, since she is a SDCC release I assume that (similar to Mattel) you order the doll online and pick her up in person. Update: I believe you can just pre-order them as usual, so they aren’t really SDCC exclusives, just SDCC releases.

Conclusion

In my opinion, Wonder Woman (Dress Version) is a much better revamp and I really love the doll, though Harley Quinn’s outfit is really fun. I’m considering picking Wonder Woman up myself since, as much as I love her character, I don’t own a single doll of her. Harley Quinn is really cool and well done, but she just isn’t my style.

I would love to hear your thoughts on these two SDCC 2016 exclusive Pullip dolls in the comments! Are you planning on getting one, both, neither? Do you think they are better or worse than their 2012 versions? Let me know what you think!

One comment

Leave a Reply

